Sunday, December 30, 2007

Getting into poetry

I have recently decided to get into poetry. Goths like poetry and they strike me as a hard group to please. I have words that I like to write down and say in large gatherings of people who are judging me. We should all write some poems down, even if you don't have some sort of horrible life experience you need to express. Just think of some words that you like and then think of some rhymes that go with them. 

Father o' Dad sat with me one day
And told me of what he knew
His teeth were moldy his hair was grey
his brains were filled with goo

"gibBERjeEEjum" He said so wise
His words so nicely pick-ed
and he followed them with words concise
"KLIPbeeDOEeeeeeeeeeeeTEjip-ed"

He spoke of when he himself was "GLUMFT"
"GRUNK"ing out by the "BEEElow"
He met a "gloop" so lovely and "rumft"
I knew it was my "MEEElow"

He told me brief, how he wooed that gloop
That sweet "gliftGUNgleep"er
So should I ever "gruBOOPdeWOOP"
I'd know just how to treat her

Give her your "deWOOP" and lots of it
and this next try understand
"TRIPwitWITtreyLAbipBITdeWIT"
and you'll always have her hand

That involved alot of counting. I hope you like it.

Bands to check out:
Those Dancing Days: Bunch of hot girls playing twee nurave check it out here http://www.myspace.com/thosedancingdays

Saturday, December 22, 2007

Male Rolemodels

You know what the youth of today lack, I can tell you it isn't more of that jazz music, it's role models. These kids need someone to look up to so they can grow up to be upstanding adults. Now let's be honest, it's the men that need this the most. With all the policemen, fathers, and grilling enthusiasts; it's easy to be led astray. Also because I am male, I know that I would have good insight into what men really need. So I will start posting new men for the young men of today to look up to, so they can embrace being male, without embracing being an asshole.

This Week: Tiga
Who is he: A prominent DJ from Montreal who recently released his "Sexor" album. Also host of the " My Name is Tiga" podcast.
Why we should look up to him: The guy knows where to put the beat, check this out (apologies to people with dial up) a video by Oliver Gondry Also, just look at that guy, so calm and composed, he looks like he's from old world Berlin, and he'd be a patron of the cabaret ( not the MTV cabaret either, but the real thing). Unlike Justin Timberlake, the suit fits naturally instead of feeling like a gimmick. 

Thursday, December 20, 2007

Movies I'd Like To See

Here are some movies I'd like to see that if there were a good movie rental place, I would rent them. However there isn't, so instead I will look around for the coolest trailers and talk about what they could be about, using the power of my imagination.

I know there's lots of jolly gee wiz to it. I don't care, It looks like fun. I like fun. It's campy
and silly and if the movie is anything like the trailer, I bet it's the sort of rip snorting thing
that gets you by the guts and makes you feel all giddy. On the other hand, it may be
retarded. I'm going to find out. New trailer next week. Here's some David Bowie in a onesie

And here's another one.

Fans of crafts and Deerhoof check this out. It is mighty inspiring to see someone work like this, especially with such appropriate music in the back ground.
While you're at it, here's a MSTRKRFT remix of the Kills "NoWOW"
http://www.thecultureofme.com/mp3/the-kills_no-wow-mstrkrft-remix.mp3
Also fans of really old japanese movies, should check out this trailer for Oni Baba, one of my favourite movies.

Wednesday, December 19, 2007

Hilarity of Antiquity.

 
I totally dig Bugs Bunny cartoons. Just the way that everything comes together. The Drawings are beautiful and hilarious at the same time
and let's not forget the music. Oh the music. Anyways, I'm gushing. On the otherside of things here's Woelv, this totally hot quebequois
indie eclectic singer.

And here is a picture that I like.Pictures On Walls - Art - ArchiveI got if from Picturesonwalls.com check it out.

Thursday, December 13, 2007

Concerning the environment

I think the environment, like, I don't want to drown.
Brian was vague, but he was right. He did not want to drown. He wanted to live and be happy and smoke weed and all of those things seemed to be tied in with a healthy environment.
I just get so frustrated. You know
The frustration burned inside him, turning his guts to ashes and bile. He was mad. He was righteous. He was going to do something. Determination flooded his being and he was going to be a brilliant body of pure environmental enthusiasm. Just like his forefathers, he was going to take it back and give it back to the planet. The planets mystical energy swirled within his belly, and the aforementioned ashes turned into a tornado of pure colour.... Green!
But what can I do?
What could he do? What could he do? He was alone in a world of idiots. Mumbling, jack toothed, polluters. They were a cancer on his brain. He needed out. He needed out of it all. He didn't want to drown. Fuck them, fuck them all.
Fuck 'Em!
Fuck them.
Fuck.
Fuck. The tornado died down, the green faded to blue and he was depressed. He was going to die, it was inevitable. If the planet wasn't going to be destroyed by water, perhaps they would all just jump on them with their sweaty stupid bodies. Gyrating and poking him until their sweat drowned his pores and his bloated body would float to the top of them and burn as well. The green in his body became blue. What was he to do?
I may be one man, but I can still do something.
And as if paying attention to his own life narration, he realized that blue could also be a reference to blue box, and even if it was a one man crusade, he would fight it. It was his duty. To himself, to the world, even to the idiots.

Sunday, December 9, 2007

This is a test to see how long I can make one of these titles, let's see what this is like. And now on to the Blog

Hello, I thought that it would be nice to set up a blog to discus with people bands that I like and movies I want to see, because dammit I have opinions and I want to share them. They may not be particularly well composed or thought out  all that well but they're there. I thought it also might be fun to have some people to share my ideas with, like my hopes to build something, somewhere.

( This is what I think about conversations, this isn't about tv or movies or anything like that)

I think the "..." has gotten to be a bit of a comedy/ conversation crutch. I admit it's funny sometimes, but there's only so much vagueness I can handle." Look out for the ... thing!" It's funny the first time you hear it, but occasionally I'd like to hear what that thing was. I'd like to hear something like "Look out for the bunny rabbit, he's acummin on strong!" occasionally. Absurdism can be irritating too, as if a regular thing to "look out for" can't be funny. If you're out on the Bayou and you see a gator, "Look out for the gator!" can be pretty funny. All in how it's said. Intonation god dammit. (I'm really irritated by kid actors when they can't hear something that's funny. You write something for them and they just stomp all over it by stressing wrong words, or blanding the whole thing up. " Look out for the gator" isn't that hard to grasp, but instead you get stuck with " Look out for the gator" lazy motherfuckers) .
 I don't think that it's the various styles that bothers me. What bothers me is how people try to stick to one style of comedy without branching out; One guy will swear in that zany kind of way and that's all there is to their humour and another guy will parody awkward behaviour. It wouldn't be so bad if there was a little experimentation with it. An example of a kid who speaks in a niche is this one kid I knew who worked backstage on a play I was in. He had that approach to conversation where he would try to point out anything that seemed strange to him with stilted sarcastic quips. Say I said " Beauty is everywhere, especially in my bum, my bum is a wonderful place" ( I wouldn't say this randomly, I hate the "lol random" brand of humour so much it makes me sick. This would come up naturally in conversation, or I would say it to someone who I'd be able to develope it with) this kid would say something like " Well that's normal". This is the laziest thing someone can do in a conversation, it makes everyone in the room feel crappy without being funny. That sort of approach to sarcasm has a tendency to ruin my kind or sarcasm, which is a sort of feigned strangeness. I don't really consider my bum a wonderful place, at least not in the biblical sense, I just want to joke about the attitude where one claims  that beauty is everywhere ( I do think beauty is in a lot of places and overt pessimism can irritate me too, in fact I think there may just be beauty in my bum. I like it's shape. It's round and not flabby looking like a good bum ought to look ( not to boast). Who's to say that it isn't a pleasant place. Every cloud has a silver lining so why can't my bum? Maybe my sense of sarcasm is more of an exaggeration of what I really feel, a pretense with layers of true ... tense(?)). So when one says an irritating quip like what that kid says, not only does it show that he doesn't know how to properly apply ( I don't like apply, instead think use, use is much less pretentious, unlike this bracket explanation) sarcasm, but it also shows that he can't recognize sarcasm. So next time you see someone saying something weird with an obvious intent for sarcasm, don't roll your eyes and say " that's interesting", say something that gets the conversation rolling more, you'll be much more popular at parties.
That paragraph sort of transformed into a complaint about one particular kid and I still want to talk more about experimenting in conversations. What I want to say is that I want to see people trying more ways to talk to people. If you're especially dry, don't just be the "dry guy", that limits your use in the conversation. The "dry guy" can only get you so far, you should also try mixing hints of zany, just enough that it may even give a little contrast to all the dryness.

I'm still not sure if I want to get the Hot Chip album. I certainly like "Over and Over" and I like their other videos, but some of their songs seem kinda dull sometimes. Not dull in the, " This is a shitty song" kind of way, but just sort of ho-hum. Maybe if I listen to the singles a few more times I'll get the hang of them. I do most definitely enjoy their music videos, they're all very inventive and cool. ( I'm going to have to warn you guys, I don't buy albums very fast so you might hear me talking about albums that came out two years ago. I'll try to be especially insightful to make up for it). I really like Hot Chip visually, the whole "electro art nerd" thing is a look that I would be very willing to adopt if only I had the time. Here are some videos that I like by them...

Over and Over, this is what I think is their most " bangin' track"., I want his red sunglasses.

Highlights
0:22 =There's something unnaturally attractive about the way that woman moves her hips.
3:12= I love the way that guy moves, the one always to the left banging on that little console thing, why is he doing that? His hairlip is adorable.

Ready for the Floor, not so sure about this one, I love the video though, especially the coloured girls in the chamber, when the black girl shows up it still surprises me. I also really like the thrown paint


Boys from school, I really like this song, it's so mellow and pretty, but at the same time I still want more track like Over and Over,
I just love to dance that way. The video is doing the sort of thing that I'd like to try making.